Gibson & Epiphone Guitar Forum
Registered Member Login:
Not a member? Register today!

Welcome to the Gibson & Epiphone Guitar Forum.

You're going to love it here. We've got Gibson & Epiphone forums, member galleries, classified ads, and more for you here.
You can read posts as a guest but posting here requires registration. But, don't worry, registering is quick, easy and painless. Why not register today?

Notices

Introductions New members start here. Tell us about yourself and your guitars. We want to get to know you.

Old May 11th, 2017, 12:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
NEW MEMBER!

New (almost) to Gibson, not to guitars

I'm not new to guitars. I started playing around 1965 with a piece of crap acoustic. That one broke (bridge tore out) just sitting on my bed while I went to class. I got another junk acoustic, but this one held up until long after I was out of school. Then, in 1972, I decided to buy a "decent" acoustic and saved up for one. I went to the only local dealer that carried Martin and Gibson. Didn't like the Hmmingbird, too "thin" a sound imho. I did like the Martin, but was undecided between Mahogany and Rosewood body (both with Sitka Spruce Top iirc, Rosewood a different Martin number). I finally decided on the D-18 (Mahogany sides) as being more open and less "muddy" than the Rosewood, just imho. Of course all this required multiple "audition" trips until I was satisfied with my choice (I can be a real nudge like that) It was just the beginning of big guitar stores offering major discounts on guitars. This local shop wouldn't negotiate at ALL. So, I went to NYC the next weekend and returned with the D-18, from Manny's iirc. Should have woulda' gotten it from Sam Ash (iirc) right next door, but a long story for another time.