Gibson & Epiphone Guitar Forum
Registered Member Login:
Not a member? Register today!

Welcome to the Gibson & Epiphone Guitar Forum.

You're going to love it here. We've got Gibson & Epiphone forums, member galleries, classified ads, and more for you here.
You can read posts as a guest but posting here requires registration. But, don't worry, registering is quick, easy and painless. Why not register today?

Notices

Pickups, Pickups, Pickups Stop by and pickup on the discussion here about... pickups.

Old June 14th, 2010, 12:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
NEW MEMBER!

need "brighter" pickups for my sg standard...

I recently joined a new band and our sound requires me to have a much cleaner/chime sound. We rarely use distortion, and the 490R and 498T are simply too "muddy" and "hot" for me these days, especially since I started playing with an Orange AD30 (known for their gritty sound). No matter how I set the knobs and switches on both the SG and Orange, I can't get a bright enough tone. My father's Strat can get a bright sound on the amp so I know it's not entirely the amp, and I also know the SG will never have the tone of a Strat or Tele no matter what pickups are used, but a Strat tone is not necessarily what I want, either, but I still need something more trebly and bright. So I am just wondering if anyone could recommend me some good quality pickups for my situation (price isn't really a factor at this point). I am MUCH more concerned with a pickup that gets a great CLEAN tone, I really couldn't care about the distortion.

Thank you, and sorry if there are any other threads exactly on this topic. I wasn't able to find them...

joru100 is offline Offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2010, 01:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Poster Extroadinare

Hi and welcome to this place.

Many people, me included, find the 490R and 498T combination to be a tad muddy. I used to have a 70s SG and sold it just because they were muddy, to me.