Hiya from the birthplace of 'metal', apparently...

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by somebodyelseuk, Sep 22, 2018.

1. Mornin' y'all,
    Quick intro...
    Middle aged, ex-chemist, originally from Manchester, living in Brum UK. Listen to all sorts of music, own all sorts of guitars... except Gibsons... bur that'll be changing soon.
    Also a member of Gretsch-Talk, not blinkered by brand names, hoping to find people here are as open to 'other guitars' as at the Gretsch place.
    Been playing over 35 years, been pulling 'em apart, tinkering and rebuilding pretty much a week less than that!
    Anyhoo, the Gibson bit... when I started playing, Gibson wasn't, let's say, producing the best instruments in its history, so twin humbucker duties were covered by a pair of Yamaha SG2000s. I still have them both and the 'production line' LPs haven't surpassed them, yet...
    ...however, all being well, I'm hoping to be buying an R8 or 9 next year. Meanwhile, as I said earlier, I'm a tinkerer, and one thing I enjoy is taking budget end guitars and improving them, without spending big money. Crrently in the middle of rewiring a budget brand LP-a-like, that has the neck pu installed the other way round, wired out of phase and has the words 'Lemon' and 'Drop' in it's name. I removed the covers, de-potted (REALLY de-potted) and replaced the magnets with A4s. The wiring will be the Jimmy Page wiring. A previous project was taking a Squier VM Jag and turining it into a Marr replica, including putting the pups in the same polarity.
    Once the 'Green/Moore/Page LP-a-like' is finished, I'll be looking at getting an Epiphone Dot, so at least I'll be a 'legit' member, then.
    Looking forward to learning new stuff, sharing what I've learned over the years and any opinions and advice re: the Dot is gratefully received.
    Cheers

2. johnreardon

johnreardon Active Member

Hi and welcome to this place

3. Infant

Infant Active Member